Applying for an Iowa Marriage License
Marriage Application and License fee is $35.00. The
parties to be married and one witness must be at least 18 years of age and must appear in person between
the hours of 8:30 A.M. and 4:30 P.M. or you may mail a completed application that has been notarized to us.
There is a three (3) day waiting period before the actual marriage may occur.
Please call 641-394-2336 or email firstname.lastname@example.org to have an application sent to you.
Requesting a Certified Copy of an Iowa Birth, Death, or Marriage
Certified copies of birth, death and marriage can be obtained from this office
once entitlement has been proven. Certified copies are $20.00 each.
Unwed births prior to July 1995, all adoption records, and all legal name
changes must be obtained from the State Department of Health. (866) 809-0290. http://www.idph.state.ia.us/apl/health_statistics.asp
Vital records are available at the Recorder/Registrar's office for the years
1880 - 1920 and 1942- current. We do have some records starting at 1854. The
State Health Department has the records for 1921-1941.
(Click here for the printable form of)
Application For A
Search For An Iowa
In Iowa, official registration of births, deaths, and marriages began July 1,
1880. All original records that have been registered are on file with the Iowa
Department of Public Health, Bureau of Vital Records. Statewide record searches
are available from the state registrar. Local registrars are located in county
recorders offices and maintain records of birth, death and marriages that have
occurred in that county. County registrars, however, do not have code authority
to have on record: single-parent births prior to July 1, 1995; adoptions; any
record ordered seal by a court of law; or birth, death, and marriages between
the years 1921 to 1941.
All applications for certified copies of vital record events must be in writing
and completely identify the record, as well as satisfactorily establish
entitlement to the record being requested. Entitled persons include the person
named on the record or that person's spouse, children, legal parents,
grandparents, grandchildren, siblings, or legal representative or guardian.
Legal guardians and representatives must also provide additional proof of
guardianship or representation.
Application for a certified copy requires a fee of $20 for the record search
and includes one certified copy. Each additional copy of the same record is
also $20. If the record is not located, the applicant receives a notification
to that affect. The $20 fee is retained for the search. Fees are payable by
check or money order made out to the issuing registrar's office (i.e., Iowa
Department of Public Health for state-certified, county recorder's office for
For county-certified certificates from Chickasaw County please send to
Chickasaw County Recorder, P.O. Box 14, New Hampton, IA 50659. Please
enclose a self addressed stamped envelope and a photo copy of your photo
identification. All applications received by mail must be
STATE CERTIFIED COPIES
Certified copies of birth, death, or marriage certificates may be obtained from
the state office of vital records by telephone, in-person, or through a postal
service. Fees are payable by check or money order made out to the Iowa
Department of Public Health. In-person requests may also be paid in cash.
Requests for the purpose of family history take at least 60 days, regardless of
the method of request.
Genealogy research is not performed by the Chickasaw County Recorders office.
We have a large collection of documents available for genealogy research during
regular business hours. We do not take telephone request.
To order a certified copy by telephone using a
credit card, call toll-free (866) 809-0290. An additional $13.00 fee is charged for the
expedited process of credit card usage. An additional $3.00 fee is charged for group orders
of more than one Vital Event within one order. Vital Check operator lines are available from 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays.
Walk-in service is available for in-persons at the state vital records office
between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except for
state-observed holidays. The office is located at the address listed below,
just inside the main north entrance and to the left of the main lobby. The
Lucas building is the first state office building east of the state Capitol
building, on the south side of Grand Avenue. Written applications must be
satisfactorily completed and signed. Applicants must also provide photo
identification. Copies may either be picked up after two days or mailed to an
Written request and fees may be mailed to the address below. Requests must
state the relationship to the person named on the record and the purpose for
the copy. Filled requests may take up to 30-45 days, depending on mail service.
Iowa Department of Public Health
Bureau of Vital Records
Lucas State Office Building, 1st Floor
321 E. 12th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0075