Welcome to Chickasaw County, Iowa
Home :: Board of Supervisors :: Meeting Minutes November 16, 2018
Monday, November 8, 2004 - Tuesday, November 9, 2004


NOVEMBER 8 & 9, 2004


    The Board convened on Monday, November 8, 2004 at 9:30 AM with a quorum present: Huegel, Schueth, Pickar, Mattke. Boge was absent. The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairman Huegel. Mail was opened and distributed.


   Extension Council Members, Carolyn Geschke, Kendra Crooks and Clarence Meiergerd posed for a news picture with the Board of Supervisors and Vice-Chairman Huegel signed a proclamation commemorating ISU Extension week observance November 14-20, 2004.  


   County Engineer Dusten Rolando met with the Board to discuss road departmental activities.


   Motion by Schueth, Seconded by Mattke, to approve and authorize Vice-Chairman to sign permit for Iowa Telecom to replace existing buried cable in county right of way in Section 15 of Dayton Township. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


   Motion by Schueth, Seconded by Pickar, to approve and authorize Vice-Chairman to sign right of way contracts for BROS-C019 (64)8J-19 bridge replacement project #111730 on Jasper Avenue south of 240th Street. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.   Contracts signed as follows: Temporary permission to enter premises with Larry W. and Kimberly S. Hilgendorf and Gary L. and Lynette A. Rathbone and contract land purchase for .16 acres in the amount of $345.72.


   Discussion followed as to current county rock specifications comparing IDOT specifications, with possible consideration of a changing to IDOT specifications and their expected results. 


   Motion by Schueth, Seconded by Pickar, to approve Board Minutes of November 1 & 2, 2004. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


   Sheriff Marty Larsen met with the Board for several updates, including the completed homicide investigation costs of $28,000.00, with major costs having occurred in fiscal year ending June 30, 2004.  Recently completed jail inspection was reviewed, with very few minor considerations. Overall status of the jail is considered to be excellent for an older facility. Two additional in-car videos will be purchased through state grant monies and private match donations totaling $ 7567.74.


   The Board convened on Tuesday, November 9, 2004 with a quorum present: Huegel, Schueth, Pickar, Mattke. Boge was absent. The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairman Huegel. Mail was opened and distributed.


   Board members proceeded to canvass the General Election held November 2, 2004, with the results as follows: U.S President.& Vice-President: John F. Kerry & John Edwards D 3708; George W. Bush & Dick Cheney R 3040; David Cobb & Patricia LaMarche, Iowa Green Party; 10; Michael Badnarik & Richard Campagna, Libertarian Party 10; Michael Anthony Peroutka & Chuck Baldwin, Constitution Party 9; Bill Van Auken & Jim Lawrence, Nominated by Petition 2; Ralph Nader & Peter Miguel Camejo Nominated by Petition 27;  U.S. Senator: Arthur Small D 1577; Chuck Grassley R 5053; Daryl A. Northrup Iowa Green Party 43; Christy Ann Welty; Libertarian 48; Edwin F. Fruit Social Workers 9; Scattered 1; U.S. Representative 4th District: Paul W. Johnson D; 3066; Tom Latham R; 3437; Scattered 8; State Senator: John Beard D 2783; Mark Zieman R 3648; Scattered 4; State Representative 15th District: Brian Quirk D 4386; Arnie Boge R 2331; Scattered 9; Board Of Supervisors-1st District: John L. Huegel-D 631; Tony Jirak WI 588; Scattered 9; Board Of Supervisor-3rd District: Roger Lantzky-D 416; James J. Schueth 759; Tony Wygle WI 174; Scattered 8; Board Of Supervisor-4th District: Virgil Pickar, Jr. 1,223; Scattered 21; County Auditor: Judy A. Babcock 4204; Karen Mulford 2463; Scattered 3; County Sheriff: Marty Larsen 5,768; Scattered 106; Soil & Water Conservation District Commissioners: James Reicks 4117; Kim Leichtman 4195; Randy Miller 4211; Scattered 15;  County Agricultural Extension Council: Tim Thorson  3779; Tanya Johnson 3547; Annette Dietz 3746; Grant Anderson 4228; Susan Jo Anderson 3852; Scattered 18; Retain Judges in Office? Supreme Court, Louis A. Lavorato, Yes 2918, No 1485; David S. Wiggins, Yes 3086, No 1278; Jerry L. Larson, Yes 3181, No 1240; Court of Appeals, Robert E. Mahan, Yes 3199, No 1184; Gayle Vogel, Yes 3100, No 1195; District Curt 1B, Todd A. Geer, Yes 3151, No 1161; George L. Stigler, Yes 3235, No 1177; James C. Bauch, Yes 3111, No 1191; Stephen C. Clarke, Yes 3089, No 1193; District Court Associate, James D. Coil, Yes 3223, No 1138; Juvenile District Court, Alan D. Allbee, Yes 3248, No 1150; Daniel L. Block, Yes 3211, No 1106;  Bradford Twp Trustee (4yrs) Wendel Muller 186; Dean Hammond WI 6, Scattered 3; Chickasaw Twp Trustee (4 yrs) Gerald W. Slessor 170; Dale Glaser WI 2; Dave Crandall WI 8; Scattered 3; Dayton Twp Trustee (4 yrs) Margaret Koenigsfeld 195; Jerry Rochford WI 4; Scattered 1; Deerfield Twp Trustee (4 yrs) Ben Cordes 129; George Huegel 113; Scattered 4; Dresden Twp Trustee (4 yrs) Terry Hirsch 166; Pat Pleggenkuhle WI 3; Vern Steege WI 1; Scattered 3; Fredericksburg Twp Trustee (4 yrs) Brad Kerr 142; Roger Laabs WI 23; Rollis Zupke WI 22; Joel Meyer WI 1; Keith Kruen WI 1; Scattered 2; Jacksonville Twp Trustee (4 yrs) Lauren J Brannon 163; Richard Schuchhardt 109; Dan Speicher 113; Scattered 2; New Hampton Rural (4 yrs) Brian Gage WI 1; Harvey Drewelow WI 1; Gerald Johnson WI 1; Steven Mashek WI 1; Carl Reicks WI 1; James Stapleton WI 1; Richland Twp Trustee (4 yrs) Edwin J. Copper 107; Gary L. Kalvig 143; Scattered 3;  Stapleton Twp Trustee (4 yrs) Donald F. Arens 154; Pauline Kuennen WI 2; Alvin Westendorf WI 1; Utica Twp Trustee (4 yrs) Jim Reicks 215; Jack Sabelka 154; Scattered 3; Washington Twp Trustee (4 yrs) Joe Glaser 253; Randy Brus WI 14; Scattered 4.


   Bob Soukup, Economic Development Director, met with the Board to update the economic development incentive package to fund new corporate headquarters of Croell Redi-Mix soon to be located in New Hampton. 


   The Board received and filed Veterans Affairs Report of October 2004 and Manure Management Plan Update for Dale Reicks Willow Creek (ID#61668) located in Section 30 of Jacksonville Township.


   Board members Huegel, Schueth, Pickar and Mattke and Auditor Babcock attend lunch with Senior Citizens at Chickasaw Centre, reconvening in the Board room approximately 1:00 PM.


   Motion by Pickar, Seconded by Huegel, to approve canvass of General Election and authorize Auditor to certify results for State and record in Permanent Election Register.   Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


   Vice-Chairman declared adjournment at 1:30 PM.



                                                                                                John J. Huegel, Vice-Chairman

                                                                                                Board of  Supervisors





Judy A. Babcock, Auditor



  Board of Supervisors Links
  Board of Supervisors Home  
  Meeting Agendas  
  Meeting Minutes  
  Contact Info  
  Directory Info  
   Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation.