Welcome to Chickasaw County, Iowa
Home :: Board of Supervisors :: Meeting Minutes November 13, 2018
Monday, March 28, 2005 - Tuesday, March 29, 2005


MARCH 28 & 29, 2005


The Board convened on Monday, March 28, 2005 at 9:30 AM with a quorum present: Huegel, Boge, Pickar, Mattke.  Schueth was absent.  The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairman Huegel. Mail was opened and distributed. Supervisor Pickar was absent from the meeting at 9:45 AM to attend a bioterrorism clinic exercise and was present again at 11:14 AM.


Motion by Boge, Seconded by Pickar, to approve Board Minutes of March 21 & 22, 2005. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


County Engineer Dusten Rolando met with the Board to discuss road departmental activities.


Asphalt paving project of approximately 13 miles on B57 and T76 is scheduled to begin on April 23, 2005 with Carlson as contractor.


Vice Chairman Huegel signed Adopt-A-Highway Appreciation Certificates for litter control to Catholic Workman Society on Route B16 from December 2002-December 2004; Ionia Volunteer Fire Department on Route V14 from June 2002- June 2004; 4-H Ionia Rustlers on Route B57 from April 2003-April 2005 and Alta Vista Aces 4-H Club on Route B22 from June 2002 - June 2004.


Motion by Mattke, Seconded by Boge, to approve and authorize Chairman to sign permit for Iowa Telecom to place buried cable along Odessa Ave. in Sections 33 and 28 in Dresden Township. Roll Call: Three Ayes. Motion Carried.


Deb Tenge acted as spokesperson for an assembly opposing a proposed hog confinement in Section 22 of Dayton Township. Those present and speaking their views were Bill Ohrt; Jim Hagedon; Bob Rosonke; Rocky & Sue Burgart in regard to the proposed location.  Present via phone conference were Malee Rosonke, also speaking on behalf of Ruth Kennedy, and Attorney Russ Schroeder.   Those present opposing a proposed confinement in Section 22 of Jacksonville Township were Rich and Mary Lou Roethler; Aaron Blatti; Celine Scholl; Jean Huber; Lisa Reicks and Reynold Burgart. Concerns including the Wapsi flood plain and water quality were expressed along with the narrow road access on 230th Street to the proposed south building site. Board members pledged open communication concerning all further information received by the county in the IDNR master matrix permitting process.


The meeting recessed shortly after 12 Noon, with Board reconvening in the Board room at 1:00 PM. Board members present was Vice-Chairman Huegel, Boge and Mattke. Schueth and Pickar were absent. 


Board members spoke with Mitchell County regarding case management employees’ health insurance benefits. Those participating from Mitchell County included Verne Tanner, Cheryl Jahnel; Supervisors and Lowell Tesch, Auditor and Barb Walk, Deputy. Sheila Kobliska, CPC, was present in Chickasaw County.  Chickasaw County and Mitchell County health insurance eligibility and plan costs were reviewed.  One issue was requested additional in-network participating providers in Osage area and the second issue was Mitchell County health insurance offered to employees scheduled at 30 hours per week, receiving ¾ of health insurance premium paid by county as a benefit.   Chickasaw County pays single insurance premium for all employees scheduled at 35 hours or greater.   As Chickasaw County is the employer of record, it was decided not to deviate from current policy of offering employee benefits a different county benefit than where payroll is generated.  Current 30-hour position is scheduled to become 35-hour a week July 1, 2005 and that employee would become health insurance eligible August 1 one month after change of status is effective as per Chickasaw County current policy. No changes are anticipated at present. The phone conference was completed at 1:16 PM.


In other business, CPC Sheila Kobliska updated the Board of $3000.00 estimate obtained from a local vendor for purchase of office work station dividers. Decision was to seek an alternate proposal for the work before proceeding. Mitchell County is seeking written confirmation of Chickasaw Mitchell Case Management Agency commitment for office residence in new building available approximately July 2006.  


Motion by Boge, Seconded by Mattke, to adjourn at 1:35 PM. Roll Call: Three Ayes. Motion Carried.


The Board convened on Tuesday, March 29, 2005 at 9:30 AM with a quorum present: Huegel, Boge, Pickar, Mattke. The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairman Huegel. Mail was opened and distributed.


Motion by Boge, Seconded by Pickar, to approve liquor license, Sunday sales privilege and outdoor service for Raleigh Hill. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


Board members and auditor reviewed most current listing of tentative voting precincts in preparation for upcoming HAVA compliance by January 1, 2006. It was necessary and logical to combine smaller voting precincts for the mandated ADA-compliant equipment upcoming purchase for each voter precinct. Anticipated cost of new equipment is expected to be $10,000.00 per physical precinct, absentee precinct and back-up equipment.  The Board of Supervisors has given their approval to proceed with written HAVA compliance plan to the Secretary of State for 14 voting precincts.  At present the county has 17 voting precincts. Chickasaw County is scheduled to receive $100,435 from HAVA funding towards purchase of replacement ADA-compliant voting equipment.


The Board received and filed IDNR Manure Management Plan Updates for Jerico Beef & Swine (ID#62201) owned by Roger Reicks located at 2651 130th St., Lawler; Dale Rosonke (ID#62840)

located at 2132 Gilmore Ave., New Hampton; Dale Reicks-Miller Site, located in Howard County with field application sites in Chickasaw County.


The Board received and filed Howard R Green Company Spring 2005 Semi-Annual Landfill Report; Homemaker Agency Reports for January 2005, February 2005 and 2nd Quarter FY 2004-2005.


Motion by Mattke, Seconded by Boge, to adjourn at 12 Noon. Roll call: Three Ayes. Motion Carried. 



                                                                        John L. Huegel, Vice-Chairman

                                                                        Board of Supervisors





Judy A. Babcock, Auditor








  Board of Supervisors Links
  Board of Supervisors Home  
  Meeting Agendas  
  Meeting Minutes  
  Contact Info  
  Directory Info  
   Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation.