Welcome to Chickasaw County, Iowa
Home :: Board of Supervisors :: Meeting Minutes January 17, 2019
Monday, April 18, 2005 - Tuesday, April 19, 2005


APRIL 18 & 19, 2005


Board members Schueth and Pickar convened on Monday, April 18, 2005 at 9:30 AM, with Supervisor Pickar absent at 9:45 AM. Supervisor Boge was present at 10:20 AM.   Supervisors Huegel and Mattke were absent.   The meeting was called to order by Chairman Schueth. Mail was opened and distributed.


Treasurer Sue Breitbach met with the Board to review Quarter ending March 31, 2005 bank balances, along with a review of taxes collections.


Dusten Rolando Engineer met with the Board to discuss road departmental activities; however, pending permits were tabled until next week, due less than a quorum of the Board. 


Gene Fritch, representing Howard R. Green Company met with the Board to present his report from the semi-annual landfill inspection.


Chairman Schueth declared adjournment at noon.


The Board convened on Tuesday, April 19, 2005 at 9:30 AM with a quorum present: Schueth, Huegel, Boge, Pickar. Mattke was absent. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Schueth. Mail was opened and distributed.


Doug Welton, Assessor, met with the Board for review and approval of 2005 Slough Bill Applications. Annually Chickasaw County Soil Conservation Commission certifies listing of individuals qualified for slough bill or wetland exemption, with required application being signed between January 1 through February 1. Slough bill list began January 1, 1986, with Iowa law allowing a 10% increase each year, and a first year starting at 3,000 acres. Chickasaw County has 4317.23 acres as of January 1, 2005, increasing 126.09 acres, from January 1, 2004 at 4191.14 acres. Present allowance in county is 5,314 acres.    


Motion by Boge, Seconded by Huegel, to approve and authorize Chairman Signature on 2005 Slough Bill approved and disapproved applications.  Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


Bob Soukup, Economic Development Director, met with the Board review and authorization of Chairman Signature on Master Development Agreement with Progress Casting LTD. Chickasaw County agrees to partner with City of New Hampton and Iowa Department of Economic Development in providing job incentive funding.


Motion by Pickar, Seconded by Boge, to approve Resolution funding $1,000.00 per job, up to $150,000.00, as job incentives to Progress Casting LTD, partnering with City of New Hampton and Iowa Department of Economic Development in retaining a minimum 5-year job guarantee. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried. (Resolution will be adopted at later session.)


Loren Kiel and Karla Baumler, representing Midwest Group Benefits, Inc. met with the Board to present 3rd quarter health insurance statistics review, with discussion following.


Supervisors Schueth and Pickar left the meeting at 11:25 AM to attend an Economic Development meeting with KWWL-TV for an upcoming ‘Iowa Proud’ segment.


The Board allowed claims.


The Board received IDNR Notice of incomplete Manure Management Plan for Dayton Site (ID#63719) located in Section 22 of Dayton Township, owned by Terry & Steven Schulz.


The Board received and filed original Manure Management Plan for Jeff Pleggenkuhle located in Fayette County and manure application sites in Chickasaw County and Manure Management Plan Annual Update for Chambers Farms Inc. (ID#58948) located at 1195 150th St., Charles City; Exeter, Ltd (ID#59543) located at 2751 Exeter Ave., Nashua.  Also received was additional paperwork for Dayton Site owned by Terry & Steven Schulz in response to their incomplete IDNR notice.


Vice-Chairman declared adjournment at noon.


Board members Schueth and Huegel later attended a department head meeting at Community Services Building meeting room. Addressing the group were Loren Kiel and Karla Baumler from Midwest Group Benefits, Inc. with 3rd quarter health insurance review and discussion and Kerry Erts, from Employee Benefits Systems with a proposal and discussion for employees’ health insurance.  Attending the meeting were Assessor Doug Welton; Sheriff Marty Larsen; Janet Larsen (Mental Health); Alice Eschweiler (Homemaker; Conservation Director Brian Moore; Cindy Heying (Roads); Treasurer Sue Breitbach; Recorder Cindy Messersmith; Shelley Stalder (Public Health Nursing).  The meeting was adjourned at 2:45 PM.







                                                                        James J. Schueth, Chairman

                                                                        Board of Supervisors





Judy A. Babcock, Auditor






  Board of Supervisors Links
  Board of Supervisors Home  
  Meeting Agendas  
  Meeting Minutes  
  Contact Info  
  Directory Info  
   Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation.