Welcome to Chickasaw County, Iowa
Home :: Board of Supervisors :: Meeting Minutes November 16, 2018
Monday, August 28, 2006 - Tuesday, August 29, 2006


AUGUST 28 & 29, 2006


The Board convened on Monday, August 28, 2006 at 9:30 AM with a quorum present:  Huegel, Boge, Pickar, Mattke.   Schueth was absent. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Huegel. Mail was opened and distributed.


Motion by Boge, Seconded by Pickar, to approve Agenda for August 28 & 29, 2006. Four Ayes, with Motion Carried.


Motion by Pickar, Seconded by Mattke, to approve Board Minutes of August 21 & 22, 2006. Roll Call:  Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


County Engineer Dusten Rolando met with the Board to discuss road departmental activities.  Updates included PCC patching on Gilmore Avenue completed as follows; 3000 yards of estimated patching with 6700 yards of completed patching.  Pavement marking over patching will be completed in near future.  Due to roadbed conditions Engineer stated future patching around recently completed patching could be expected in 2-5 years.  Box culvert projects have been completed on 220th Street; Pembroke Ave; South of Quinlan Ave., all east of New Hampton.  All contract rock resurfacing has now been completed with spot rock to be done on Cheyenne Ave.


Motion by Pickar, Seconded by Mattke, to approve and authorize Chairman to sign permit for New Hampton Municipal Light Plant to place buried cable in county right of way thru 225th Street in Section 24 of Dayton Township. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


Motion by Pickar, Seconded by Mattke, to approve fireworks permit for Joe Schmitt. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


Motion by Boge, Seconded by Pickar, to adjourn at 11:30 AM. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


The Board convened on Tuesday, August 29, 2006 at 9:30 AM with a quorum present: Huegel, Boge, Pickar, Mattke. Schueth was absent. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Huegel. Mail was opened and distributed.


Jennifer Knutson and Becky Tilkes, representing Case Management Services, met with the Board for client services update.


Motion by Boge, Seconded by Pickar, to approve and authorize Signatures on Resolution for tax abatement requested by the City of New Hampton for flood plain property formerly owned by Reynold & Marlene Oxendine. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.    RESOLUTION 08-29-06-34 FOR ABATEMENT OF REAL ESTATE TAXES. WHEREAS, there remains unpaid the FY 2006-2007 taxes due and listed formerly owned by Reynolds Oxendine, which is now under the ownership of the City of New Hampton.   According to Iowa Code Section 445.63, the Board of Supervisors may abate taxes on property acquired by a political subdivision. City of New Hampton officials have requested the Board of Supervisors abate taxes for FY 2006-07 in the amount of $266.00. The Board of Supervisors is requested to abate the taxes due by reason of their authority within Iowa Code Section 445.63. NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, this Board is in agreement by their motion and adoption of this resolution on August 29, 2006 and therefore will abate all taxes. AYES: /ss/ John L. Huegel, Chairman; Arnie J. Boge; Virgil M. Pickar, Jr.; Sherry Mattke; Absent,  James J. Schueth. NAYS: None. ATTEST: /ss/  Judy A. Babcock, Auditor


Jeanine Burgart, representing New Hampton Chamber of Commerce met with the Board to update the Hotel/Motel ballot issue.  Also present were Geri Etter, representing Dairy Barn Bed & Breakfast; Mel Johnston, representing Bradford House.  The only other business affected by the proposed ballot issue in the unincorporated area is River Ranch Campgrounds.    River Ranch Campgrounds had expressed opposition by phone, while both Geri Etter and Mel Johnston expressed their opposition to the Hotel/Motel Ballot question, with discussion following. The proposed ballot language was reviewed, stating 100% of anticipated revenues would be used to fund county tourism.  Board members declined to adopt the resolution because of opposition to the issue and non-consequential projected revenue expectation of $2000 - $3000.00.


The Board received and filed IDNR notices as follows: Administrative approval of Manure Management Plan for Mike Klassen (ID#59679) located at 2130 Exeter Ave., Ionia in Section 13 of Chickasaw Township; Jim Harrington dba Harrington, LTD (ID#58790)  located at 1464 290th St., Nashua in Section 26 of Bradford Township.  Notices of Annual Submittal Date for Manure Management Plan due by October 1, 2006 for  Dale Kout dba Kout Bros. Farm (ID56638) located at 1797 Ridgeway Blvd., Lawler in Section 31 of Utica Township; Don & Sharalee Kurtenbach (ID#60832) located at 2145 Stanley Ave., Lawler in Section 13 of New Hampton Township; Harold Lantow (ID#59760) located at 2705 260th St., Fredericksburg in Section 12 of Dresden Township; Zwanziger LLC (ID#59516) located at 2555 Durham Ave., Nashua in Section 3 of Bradford Township.  


Chairman Huegel declared adjournment at 12 Noon.






                                                                                                John L. Huegel, Chairman

                                                                                                Board of Supervisors







Judy A. Babcock, Auditor









  Board of Supervisors Links
  Board of Supervisors Home  
  Meeting Agendas  
  Meeting Minutes  
  Contact Info  
  Directory Info  
   Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation.