Welcome to Chickasaw County, Iowa
Home :: Board of Supervisors :: Meeting Minutes November 14, 2018
Monday, April 5, 2004 - Tuesday, April 6, 2004


APRIL 5 & 6, 2004


The Board convened on Monday, April 6, 2004 at 9:30 AM with a quorum present: Boge, Huegel, Pickar, Mattke.   Schueth was absent.  The meeting was called to order by Chairman Boge. Mail was opened and distributed.


Ken Rasing met with the Board for review and approval for 50’ tile easement agreement with Mike and Dona Freidhof, for a tile drainage outlet with all construction costs and maintenance provided by Freidhof’s or their successor and assigns. 


Motion by Huegel, Seconded by Pickar, to approve and authorize Chairman Signature on tile easement with Michael and Dona Freidhof  in the SW1/4 of the SE ¼ of Section 24, Township 95 North, Rage 13 West.   Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


The Board received and filed Emergency Management Report and Sanitarian Report of March 2004.


Sheila Kobliska, CPC, Carla Janssen and Jeanine Matt met with the Board for opening of   proposals for services at the Heritage, beginning July 1, 2004. Three proposals were received from Community Care, Inc., Good Connections, Inc. and American Healthcare Management Services, LLC, with proposal consideration beginning and the RFP Evaluation Committee to present their recommendation on April 19th at 10:00 AM.


County Engineer Dusten Rolando met with the Board to discuss road departmental activities.


The Pioneer Cemetery Commission requested lane resurfacing to Cagley Cemetery in preparation for their upcoming cemetery restoration project this summer. 


Contract road rock resurfacing was begun today in Division 4 or the Southeast corner of the County by Rausch Bros. Trucking.


Repair has begun for the closed bridge on 190th Street, where two piers will be cut and spliced to repair two deteriorated piers.


Rock Tuchek and Loren Kiel, representing Midwest Benefits, Inc. met with the Board for review and discussion of 1st Quarter employees’ health insurance reports. Consumer education, utilization and cost containment are ongoing concerns.


Motion by Huegel, Seconded by Pickar, to approve Board Minutes of March 29 & 30, 2004. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


The Board received and filed Manure Management Plan annual update for Chambers Farms Inc. (Owners, Donald & Janet Chambers) Facility ID #58948, located at 1195 150th St., Charles City and Miller Site (Owner, Dale Reicks), located at 3028 210th St., Elma with manure application sites in Chickasaw County and Administrative Approval for Jerico Swine & Beef (ID#62201) Owner, Roger Reicks, located in Section 35, Jacksonville Township and Poppe Farms (ID#57707) located in Section 6, Richland Township.


The Board allowed claims.


Motion by Huegel, Seconded by Pickar, to approve Resolution for funding Iowa Watershed Membership for County Betterment. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried. 04-05-04-09 RESOLUTION SUPPORTING FUNDING IOWA WATERSHED MEMBERSHIP BY CHICKASAW COUNTY. WHEREAS, members of the Board of Supervisors have considered membership in the Iowa Watershed non-profit organization, which an organization involved in watershed management, with their purpose being to advocate the use of watershed concept when addressing natural resource and flood plain management issues within the unincorporated areas of the county. The organization is part of the annual request mechanism for financial assistance for Iowa watershed projects and rehabilitation needs currently underway. NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the Chickasaw County Board of Supervisors by their board motion on the 5th day of April, 2004 to approve $100.00 to be paid from the County Betterment Fund of the Local Option Sales Tax. Dated this 5th day of April 2004. AYES: /ss/ Arnie J. Boge, Chairman; John L. Huegel, Vice-Chairman; Virgil M. Pickar, Jr.; Sherry Mattke. (James J. Schueth, Absent) NAYS: None. Attest: /ss/ Judy A. Babcock, Auditor


Motion by Pickar, Seconded by Mattke, to adjourn at 12:10 PM. Roll Call: Four Ayes. Motion Carried.


The Board convened on Tuesday, April 06, 2004 with a quorum present: Huegel, Pickar, Mattke. Boge and Schueth were absent. The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairman Huegel. Mail was opened and distributed.


Board members, Auditor & CPC toured a prospective site for county mental health department beginning July 1, 2004.


Sheila Kobliska, CPC, met with the Board to discuss County Mental Health Employees transition for county department beginning July 1, 2004.


Willis Hansen, representing State Bank of Lawler, Hugh MacIntosh, Gerry Lindner, Dr. Mary Sharon Peraud, Cindy Lantow, representing Fredericksburg Economic Development Committee, met with the Board to discuss the proposed new Fredericksburg Clinic building. Doctors Peraud will be retiring sometime in the next ten years and the Development Committee will be recruiting a family practice physician to fill the capacity.  The funding request will be considered and decided in the near future.


The Board allowed claims.


Board members Huegel, Pickar, Mattke and Auditor Babcock attended lunch with Senior Citizens at the Centre.


At 1:00 PM the Board met with TeKippe Engineering and New Hampton City Officials to discuss city water line supply to the Heritage.  Attending were Lyle TeKippe; Tim Angell, Don Mai, Jr., Bob Martin, Don Schueth, Darwin Sittig, all representing City of New Hampton; Bob Soukup, Economic Development Director; Wayne Johnson and Julie Eckenrod, area residents; and John Huegel, Virgil M. Pickar, Jr., Sherry Mattke, and Ken Rasing. Lyle TeKippe explained  the project under consideration: 1700 feet from the 225th Street  intersection to the Heritage, 12” water ductile iron main at $24.00 per foot and three water hydrants at $2300.00 each, for a preliminary estimate of $67,000.  City officials indicated current contract could be amended to include water main beyond the 225th Street intersection, as general obligations bonds will be partially funding current project.  Wayne Johnson’s proposed new subdivision east of the Heritage, is considering cost sharing the proposed project. Discussion included increasing materials costs, water main routing and Heritage water utilization. Lyle TeKippe was directed to submit minimum and optimum proposals.


Board members toured two additional possible sites for the Mental Health Services Department beginning on July 1, 2004. 


Adjournment was declared at 3:15 PM.



                                                                        Arnie J. Boge, Chairman

                                                                        Board of Supervisors





Judy A. Babcock, Auditor






  Board of Supervisors Links
  Board of Supervisors Home  
  Meeting Agendas  
  Meeting Minutes  
  Contact Info  
  Directory Info  
   Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation.